Currently located at 5040 Shankland Road in Willoughby, Ohio, the Little Red Schoolhouse was built in 1901 and once located on Euclid Avenue in Willoughby. Known as "District No. 7", this schoolhouse was closed in 1920. It is now a three building complex maintained by the Little Red School House Society, Inc.. It was moved to its current location in 1975. The one-room schoolhouse was the most common school in the United States during the second half of the nineteenth century and the first few decades of the twentieth.
In 1978, we began with the purpose to initiate, preserve and perpetuate interest in the Little Red Schoolhouse of Willoughby, and interest in the educational and cultural heritage of the area. We still operate under these very principals.
Through our connection with the classrooom of today, we continue to offer students an opportunity to experience what life in 1901 was like culturally, socially and educationally through use of our one room schoolhouse, craft and arts programs.